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 Christmas Function December 17th at the Warradale Hotel. 

The hotel has asked that they be paid in advance so attendees are asked to pay the 
$40 per head attendance fee beforehand, either by paying a session director, or else 
by direct credit to the Association’s bank account BSB 805-050, account number 
102-790-715. If paying by direct deposit please give your name and the purpose of 
the payment. 

Not for the Faint Hearted 

 
The above deal, taken from the first session of the 2023 State Teams Championship 
produced a wide range of results with two East-West pairs making 3NT with 
overtricks, a third East West pair playing in 5, two down, and at the fourth table 
North sacrificed in 4, and made it! 
The no 2 and no 3 teams, Williams and Travis, were tied after thirty boards, with a win 
to Williams on carry forward.   

Bridge in the City GRADED PAIRS CONGRESS 

Sunday november 19th 

10:00 a.m. Start 

 



 

 
 

Prepayment Scheme – Please Check the Account Number 
Bridge in the City has its own prepayment scheme, allowing players to pay their table 
fees in advance. Players then get emails advising them of their balance, while 
containing a link to an internet schedule of all their deposits and deductions. 
Payments can be made either to the Director on duty, or else online into the following 
Bridge in the City bank account. BSB 805-050, account number 102-790-715. Note 
this is a different account from the one used initially. 
Finally, when making an online deposit, please make sure that you give your name.   

When the Opponents Don’t Know Their System 
 You are having a contested auction, and an opponent makes a call. You ask the 
opponent's partner what the bid means, and he is uncertain. What do you do now? 
 Call the Director! If your question is a reasonable one the Director will send the 
unknowing partner away from the table, and then ask the player who made the call of 
the conventional meaning. 
 The player who made the call cannot, of course, draw any inference from partner's 
failure to remember the meaning of the call. Further, only the Director can send a 
player from the table, no matter how much their opponents may wish so. 

When Partner Doesn’t Know Your System 
 This becomes a matter of priorities - you naturally wish to give the correct information 
to the opponents, however you are unable to do so while partner is in a position to take 
advantage of the correction. 
Therefore, you cannot correct the misinformation during the auction. If your side is 
declaring on the hand you should nform the opponents of the true meaning of the call 
before the opening lead is made. If instead your side is defending then you cannot tell 
the opponents until the play is concluded.  
 In both instances the Director should be summoned at the end of the hand if the 
misinformation has caused any damage to the opponents. 

COMMITTEE NEWS 
The committee meets every two months, and Minutes are then posted to the website, 
at www.bridgeinthecity.net.au/minutes 
Nola Stone is now the club Secretary, having taken over from Leonie Shearing. We 
certainly appreciate Leonie’s efforts in getting us off to a proper administrative 
beginning. 
The Committee is actively looking for sponsorship while, since we are now eligible as 
an Incorporated body, Stewart Kingsborough has been tasked with approaching Local 
and State government bodies for possible assistance. 
Two disputes between members have been resolved to the committee’s satisfaction. 
 



 

 
 

RUDOLPH'S THROW-IN PLAY by Richard Pavlicek 
 
The Arctic Bridge League assembled today for a special investigation of an 
unfortunate incident at its annual Polar Bridge Fest. This week-long tournament 
attracts all of the top players, including the notorious reindeer pair Rudolph and 
Randolph. On the deal below they opposed their Eskimo rivals, Mush and Slush, who 
were eager to seek revenge after the drubbing they took last year. 
   Randolph 
Dealer South  432 
East-West Vul. A9832 
   543 
   32 
Mush     Slush 
Q     KJ10987 
K76     - 
J6     Q10987 
KJ109876    Q4 
   Rudolph 
   A65 
   QJ1054 
   AK2 
   A5 
West North East South 
   1H 
4C 4H All Pass 
 
Rudolph, South, opened one heart and Mush overcalled four clubs, a rather obnoxious 
preempt at the vulnerability. Mush later explained that he had his spade Queen in with 
his clubs -- a likely story. This would have silenced some North players, but Randolph 
was right there with four hearts. He knew it was safe to overbid when Rudolph would 
be declarer. 
Mush "discovered" the spade Queen in time to lead it, and Slush overtook with the 
King as Rudolph won the Ace. With 10 trumps it is clear to finesse, and since anyone 
could lead the queen, Rudolph made the more artistic play of leading low to dummy's 
eight. 
Finessing an eight is nothing! Rudolph showed his real class by next taking the club 
finesse -- low from dummy, four, five. (This was just shy of the record he set back in 
'79 by finessing a four-spot.) The club play couldn't win, of course, but a finesse is a 
finesse - it's like climbing a mountain; you do it because it is there. It actually served a 
purpose in keeping Slush off lead so he couldn't cash his spade tricks. 



 

 
 

 
After winning the club six, Mush exited with a club to the now blank Ace, and Rudolph 
repeated the heart finesse; Queen, King, Ace. Rudolph next won the Ace and King of 
diamonds to leave this position: 
Dealer South  43 
East-West Vul. 932 
   5 
   - 
-     J109 
7     - 
-     Q109 
KJ1098    - 
   65 
   J105 
   2 
   - 
Rudolph next led the heart Jack ... or so he thought. In fact, he accidentally led the 
heart five and, to make matters worse, he called a small heart from dummy allowing 
Mush to win the trick with his seven. Rudolph tried to correct this, but almost in unison 
Mush and Slush shouted, "The play stands!" 
Rudolph knew it would be useless to call a Director (they were all Eskimos), so he 
finished out the hand. Mush was on lead with nothing but clubs left and was forced to 
concede a ruff and a sluff. "Wait a second," thought Rudolph, "If I ruff this trick I will 
just break even for the trick I gave away. Maybe there's a way to gain  
something." 
 Sure enough, Rudolph came up with a masterful plan. Instead of trumping he took a 
"sluff and a sluff," throwing a spade from dummy and a diamond from his hand. 
Mush had to lead another club, allowing Rudolph to throw dummy's last spade as he 
ruffed in hand. Making four hearts! Not only that, but the subtle throw-in play to 
sacrifice a trump trick was the only way to succeed. Mush and Slush soon realized this 
too, and with fire in their eyes they screamed, "D-I-R-E-C-T-O-R." Twenty Eskimos 
rushed to the table and unanimously ruled that Rudolph was down one. 
 
"But..." pleaded Rudolph. 
 
"That's right!" Mush interjected, "And if you don't like it, we'll kick your butt." 
 
At this moment Rudolph lunged toward Mush with his antlers, and the whole room 
broke into a frenzy. Reindeer running amok is a horrible sight; in less than five minutes 



 

 
 

there wasn't a table standing. Fortunately, no one was seriously hurt. The investigation 
committee should release its report by the end of the week. 
 
Epilogue: The committee reversed the ruling and awarded Rudolph his four hearts 
contract. The logic was that even if Rudolph had led the heart Jack as intended, he 
would next have led a diamond to Slush, who probably would have led a fourth 
diamond not knowing his spades were good (his brain was slush too). The committee's 
decision was fair and impartial.  
 
Signed: Dasher, Dancer, Donner and Blitzen. 
 
A special thanks to Richard Pavlicek for this article, taken (with his permission) from 
his Internet homepage. 

Monthly Winners 
FRIDAY A GRADE OCTOBER PAIRS 
 1  Sharmini Anderson & Eleonora Truskewycz 
 2  Jinny Fuss & Jackie Ward 
 3  Evie Hogan & Leonie Shearing 
FRIDAY B GRADE OCTOBER PAIRS 
 1  Ken Stone & Peter Tuck 
 2  John Hickey & Glenn Trenwith 
 3  Marlene Ryan & Pam Wood 
MONDAY OCTOBER PAIRS 
 1  Chris Barnwell & Stewart Kingsborough 
 2  Sharon Junner & Christine Niemann 
 3  Glenda & John Marshall 

BRIDGEMATES 
It was only 12 years ago that Bridgemates were introduced to Bridge in this State, but 
now every club, no matter how small, has them.  
 
Prior to then the scorer had to key in the results from each table into a computer, a 
task that I carried out regularly at SABA for sessions with sometimes more than 40 
tables! There were some shortcuts - only the scores were entered, not the contracts, 
the last zero wasn’t keyed in, <enter> copied the score immediately above, while 
negative results were put in as score followed by the minus sign (Reverse Polish). 
 
When I first played the game, we didn’t have computers, just travelling scoresheets so 
the scorer had to manually rank the scores on each deal, assign the matchpoints, add 
them up, then divide by the maximum available. That was hard work with a section 
taking at least 15 minutes for the quickest of scorers. 



 

 
 

INADVERTENCIES 
 
Some years ago there was an article in the ABF Newsletter promoting the inadvertency 
concept, where unintentional calls could be corrected, with the Tournament Director's 
approval. 
 
This, however, was not without its problems - players seemed to treat this new freedom 
in the same manner as the "morning-after" pill. All sorts of bidding errors were being 
referred to Directors by players brimming with the expectancy of immediate 
forgiveness. 
 
Such new-found freedoms, if permitted, would be quite in contrast with the disciplines 
elsewhere in the game. Errors in play, such as revokes and exposed cards, and other 
bidding errors, such as calls out of rotation, are often subject to savage retribution - 
why then should there be so much license given to bidding errors? 
 
The answer, of course, is that there isn't. A bid can only be corrected (with the 
Director's assent) if it is wildly improbable, and was certainly never the intended call. 
This leniency will certainly not be available when a player forgets his bidding system, 
misreads his partner's or an opponent's call, or mis-sorts his cards.  
 
Some examples of calls that cannot be corrected are: 
 

 Any mis-bid caused by a player forgetting his bidding system. 
 A call made when a player had mis-sorted his hand, or had  
 the incorrect number of cards. 
 A pass in response to partner's Ace ask, Jacoby transfer,  
 or any other forcing call. 
 Passing with an opening, or responding, values. 
 Any call based on your having misread partner's call. 
 The wrong step response to an asking bid. 
 Any call which, whilst a possibility on the hand, is inferior to another, e.g. 

opening one heart with 19 hcp when you are playing Precision, and should 
therefore have opened one club. 

 
The calls that can be corrected are far fewer in number, and can all be regarded as 
instances of a lack of brain-to-pen co-ordination. In each instance the offender would 
have immediately corrected his error if spoken bidding had been in use. Examples are: 

 Bidding your singleton when you clearly intended to call your five card suit. 
 Raising the opponent's suit to game, instead of your partner's. 



 

 
 

 A call some levels higher than expected. 
 Finally, all players should be aware that a Director call for permission to have a 

call treated as inadvertent may, if unsuccessful, result in partner being given 
unauthorized information, with consequent penalties. 

CARD PLAY TIPS 
 
The following list is hardly all-inclusive, however it represents the card play errors 
that I most frequently see. 

 Count your tricks - work out how many tricks you have, how many you need, 
and how many tricks you need to concede to get these tricks. 

 Have a plan - you may not be able to go through with all of it, but you should 
have some intentions. 

 When playing a trump contract it is not necessary to draw trumps 
immediately - by so doing you can lose ruffs in dummy, or even lose control of 
the hand if trumps break badly. You should, of course, draw trumps as soon as 
you can, however there will frequently be something better to do. 

 Don't be in a hurry to take ruffs in hand - you should only do this if scrambling 
for tricks, or playing a cross-ruff. Otherwise, unnecessary ruffs may result in 
you losing control of the hand later on, forcing you to make embarrassing 
discards while the opponents take their side-suit tricks. 

 Before embarking on a line of play, mentally check to see how your partner 
would play the hand if his hand was declarer. Dummy reversals aren't 
difficult, just infrequently recognized. 

 Attempt to build your own mental picture of each defender's hand. There are 
several clues available, many of them not usually recognized. Some of these 
clues are: 

1. The opponent's bidding (or lack of it). 
2. The opening lead. 
3. Discards - the first discard is commonly from a five card suit, whilst defenders 

are far more inclined to discard a card from a suit headed by the Ace, rather 
than one headed by a lesser honour. 

Masterpoint Promotions 
Chris Barnwell SILVER LIFE Sue Wilksch  LOCAL 
David Cash  **LOCAL  Jenny Cash  **LOCAL 
Trevor Parr  CLUB   Megan Norton BRONZE NATIONAL 
Ken Stone  REGIONAL  Sharon Junner BRONZE LOCAL 
 


